The MTGenWeb Project


About the Project

What's New

Welcome to the MTGenWeb Project

Welcome to the MTGenWeb Project homepage. This site is part of the USGenWeb Project and is the website for research in Montana. 

To learn more about the history of this project or to contact us for more information, please visit our About This Project page.  If you need assistance with this website, please contact the State Coordinator.  Do not ask the State Coordinator for research assistance as they are unable to provide it to you.


Western Meadowlark
Montana's Official State Bird

December 4, 2014

November County of Excellence:
Judith Basin



General Montana Research

Volunteer Information


Resource Links


Mailing List

Military Records

Native American Research

Photo Archive

MTGenWeb County Map


You will want to begin your search by exploring the County Websites.  You may discover that one of the counties is in need of a coordinator.   If you are interested in adopting one of the counties, please contact the State Coordinator.

Each of the hosted counties maintains a system for submitting queries.  If you don't know which county your ancestor lived in you might want to post a query to the Unknown Montana Query Board

The MTGenWeb Project is in need of volunteers to host county pages, provide look-up resources, transcribe data, etc...

If you might be interested in volunteering, please stop by the Volunteer Information page to learn more about what is required.

MTGenWeb Requirements

County of Excellence Award


County Websites



Parent County

County Seat


Beaverhead 1865 One of the
original 9
Dillon James Berry
Big Horn 1913 Rosebud &
Hardin Adopt Me!
Blaine 1912 Choteau Chinook David Pitt
Broadwater 1895 Jefferson &
Townsend Christina Palmer
Carbon 1895 Park &
Red Lodge James Berry
Carter 1917 Fallon Ekalaka Amber Carter
Cascade 1887 Chouteau &
Great Falls Adopt Me!
Chouteau 1865 One of the
original 9
Fort Benton Karen De Groote


1877 Big Horn Miles City Shirley Cullum
Daniels 1920 Sheridan &
Scobey Pamla Hendrickson
Dawson 1869 An original county Glendive Sara Cross
Deer Lodge 1865 One of the
original 9
Anaconda Suzanne Andrews
Fallon 1913 Custer Baker Jodi Samel
Fergus 1886 One of
original 9
Lewistown David Pitt
Flathead 1893 Missoula Kalispell Vickie Rowley
Ann MacCary
Judy Collins
Gallatin 1865 One of the
original 9
Bozeman Adopt Me!
Garfield 1919 Dawson Jordan Dan Shurtliff
Glacier 1919 Teton Cutbank Karen De Groote
Golden Valley 1920 Musselshell &
Ryegate Adopt Me!
Granite 1893 Deer Lodge &

James Berry

Hill 1912 Chouteau Havre Amber Carter
Jefferson 1865 One of the
original 9
Boulder Ellen Rae Thiel
Judith Basin 1920 Cascade &
Stanford Sara Cross
Lake 1923 Flathead &
Polson Dan Shurtliff
Lewis and Clark 1865 One of the
original 9
Helena Sara Cross
Liberty 1920 Chouteau &
Chester Amber Carter
Lincoln 1909 Flathead Libby Sara Cross



One of the
original 9

Virginia City

Jane Colmenares

McCone 1919 Dawson &
Circle Sara Cross
Meagher 1867 Chouteau &
White Sulfur Springs Adopt Me!


1914 Missoula Superior

Adopt Me!

Missoula 1865 One of the
original 9

Sara Cross

Musselshell 1911 Fergus, Meagher &
Roundup Jane Keppler
Park 1887 Gallatin Livingston Alicia Littlejohn
Petroleum 1925 Fergus Winnett Sara Cross
Phillips 1915 Blaine &
Malta Alicia Littlejohn
Pondera 1919 Choteau &
Conrad Karen De Groote
Powder River 1919 Custer Broadus Ann Emmons
Powell 1901 Deer Lodge Deer Lodge Suzanne Andrews
Prairie 1915 Dawson &
Terry Ann Emmons
Ravalli 1893 Missoula Hamilton Karolyn Simpson
Richland 1914 Dawson Sidney Leann Pelvit
Roosevelt 1919 Sheridan Wolf Point Alicia Littlejohn
Rosebud 1901 Custer Forsyth Adopt Me!
Sanders 1905 Missoula Thompson Falls Adopt Me!
Sheridan 1913 Valley Plentywood Pamla Hendrickson
Silverbow 1881 Deer Lodge Butte Suzanne Andrews
Stillwater 1913 Carbon, Sweetgrass &
Columbus Katy Hestand
Sweet Grass 1895 Meagher, Park &
Big Timber Adopt Me!
Teton 1893 Chouteau Choteau Adopt Me!
Toole 1914 Hill &
Shelby Karen De Groote
Treasure 1919 Rosebud Hysham Jane Keppler
Valley 1893 Dawson Glasgow Dan Shurtliff
Wheatland 1917 Meagher &
Harlowton David Pitt
Wibaux ("Wee-boe") 1914 Dawson, Fallon &
Wibaux Kimm Antell
Yellowstone 1883 Custer Billings Katy Hestand

Shirley Cullum, State Coordinator

Christina Palmer, Assistant State Coordinator


Page Updated:  4 December 2014