Welcome to
Carter County, Montana
Last Updated:  07 January 2023

HomeArchivesBirthsCemeteriesCensusCommunitiesCounty OfficesDeathsLand RecordsLookupsMarriagesNewspapersOtherQueriesSurnames


Map courtesy of mapchart.net

Prior to settlement, Carter County was occupied by the Sioux Tribe.  Carter County was originally part of Big Horn County, which was established on 25 May 1864.  On 15 February 1877, Big Horn County was renamed to Custer County.  In December 1913, Fallon County (which included Carter County) was created from part of Custer County and Ekalaka was named the county seat.  The following year, the county seat was moved to Baker.  On 21 February 1917, Carter County was created.  The county opened for business on 18 May 1917, with Ekalaka as the county seat and was named for the State's first congressman, Thomas Carter.  A school building was also used as the courthouse and is now the Farmer's Union Oil Company building.  A new courthouse was built in 1920 and is still in use today. 

Neighboring Counties

Custer County, MT Fallon County, MT Harding County, SD
Powder River County, MT Carter County, MT
Crook County, WY Butte County, SD

site search by freefind advanced

My name is Jodi Samel and I'm the county coordinator for Carter County.  If you have resources or information you would like to share or would like to volunteer to do lookups, please contact me.  If you are researching and need help, please let me know and I can check my reference material and see if I have anything that can help you.  I'm always happy to help if I can.  And please, if you notice any mistakes, let me know so I can fix it.  Thank you & enjoy the site!