Richland County


Available for adoption!

Richland County is in need of a new county coordinator. 
If you have ever considered volunteering, please consider joining the MTGenWeb family.

Our adoptable page has a list of all the counties that need new coordinators. 
If you need more information please email our Adoption Department
and we will answer all your questions.  Join the family!

My name is Pamla Hendrickson and I am the babysitter of Richland. If you have any questions or have any links or information to share please don't hesitate to email me!


Richland / Sidney
MonDak Heritage
Family Index
Tree Branches

search engine by freefind

These super highways of information  are for your assistance in finding ancestors. Most of the information is free for searching. Follow the links to states and counties and to actual data files! Post a query!  Become a volunteer and share to help someone else. Respect the copyrights and the rights of the living by not posting private information.

September 2015
August 2017
September 2018

             Montana State Genealogy site for Montana Death Index, all counties
              1930 Montana US Census indexes by MSGS - Completed in 2011
              Norwegians In Montana - Marriages, by Richard Fretheim
              Norwegians In Montana - Naturalizations, by Richard Fretheim
              Montana Memory Project 

Montana USGenWeb Archives:
History of Montana, by Joaquim Miller, 1894
History of Montana, by Helen F. Sanders, 1913
Montana Its Story and Biography, by Tom Stout, 1921
"Montana the Land and the People" Robert George Raymer,  1930

Index to 1899 "Society of Montana Pioneers" Volume 1

About Richland County...
Created from the original county of Dawson in 1914, Richland County today has a population of about 10,000. It is situated in NE Montana with the Missouri River on the north, and the state of North Dakota to the east. Homesteaders settled the fertile area and some stayed. Dry dusty years, the Great Depression and two World Wars saw many leave.  Those who remained left their footprints in the historical heritage of the last homestead era of America. Two excellent family history books have been done on early settlers, Courage Enough I & II.  Another book, Home Range, chronicles the Elmdale settlers.
Sidney became the county seat, and the local courthouse holds the birth, death, marriage, land patent, naturalization and probate documents.
If you own books or other material about Richland County and would be willing to look up information for researchers, please contact contact the county coordinator.

Write to the Clerk & Recorder for Records available:
Birth, Death, Lease, Mortgage, Deeds: from 1914; Military Service: from 1944
Clerk & Recorder
Richland County
201 West Main Street
Sidney, MT 59270-4035
phone: 406-433-1708
Richland Courthouse
see Courthouse Website for current fees
 Birth, $8.00 -  Death, $7.00

Informational copies: $2.00 after 30 years
Birth or Death Searches available
Clerk of the District Court Records available:
Marriage, Divorce, Probate, Criminal & Civil Court and some Naturalizations from 1914.
Clerk Of District Court 
Richland County
201 West Main Street
Sidney, MT  59270-4035
phone: 406-433-1709
Sidney Library
see Courthouse Website for Current fees & info
Marriage records: $7.00 per certified copy
  Non certified copies $5.00
Searches over a period of years: $.50 per name;

Communities within Richland County, past and present include: Mona, Elmdale, Gumbo Flats, Arthur, Andes, Girard, Sioux Pass, Nohle, Fairview, Dore, Muriel, Brorson, Ridgelawn, Riverview, Newlon, Burns, Savage, Tokna, Crane, Gettysburg,  Three Buttes, Lambert, Fox Lake,  Manrock, Lane, SIDNEY, and Clark on the East side of the Yellowstone River.

 Fort Union was an early fur trading post 21 miles north of Sidney on the Missouri River. It is now a visitor center. Little remains of near-by Mondak and Fort Buford. The town of Richey is west of the Richland border, located in Dawson County.

Neighbor counties and county seats are McCone (Circle),   Roosevelt (Wolf Point),  Sheridan (Plentywood),  Wibaux (Wibaux) and Dawson  (Glendive). Some of the early documents will be found at the Dawson County Courthouse.   Across the state line is  Williams  Co. (Williston)  N.D.


Available for Adoption
Richland County Coordinator

updated 24 Jun 2022
web design by R. Wyman

        Copyright 1998 - 2022   ©  all rights reserved