Yellowstone County People

City Officials

[Reference: POLK Directories and Gazette Documentation] 

Revised 5 September 2003


Coulson didn’t have a formal grouping of city officials. John Alderson, in late 1881 tried to rally the town into an activity that might have created one, but apparently the movement failed. Local residents simply got together and made decisions when an occasion arose. Such was the case in 1880 when John Alderson shot Dave Currier, and a trial was held by a gathering of local citizens to determine his fate.


Although the city was created in 1882, no local administrative offices were established until a special charter was granted to the city in 1885 allowing it to be incorporated. On January 11, 1893 it was re-incorporated as the “Town of Billings.” In May of 1885, the following officials were elected, and since that time, the number of offices has grown dramatically. Elections were originally scheduled annually for the first Monday in April, but corrected to every two years.

o       Mayor John Tully

o       Councilmen Lucius Whitney, L.H. Fenske, J.J. Walk, H. W. Rowley, S.H. Erwin & C.E. Westbrook

o       Treasurer Fred Sweetman

o       Assessor Fred Sweetman

o       Marshall Henry Terell

o       Attorney E.N. Harwood

o       Clerk E.N. Harwood

o       Magistrate J.D. Matheson (e.g., Police)

Partial Lineage for the Office of Mayor: (election every two years):

      1885 John Tully (Founding Mayor)

      1889 Fred H Foster


      1893 Fred H Foster




      1901 W B George

      1903 Fred H Foster (Changed to Democrat)

      1905 Fred H Foster

      1907 Fred H Foster

      1909 Fred H Foster

      1912 Frank T Woods

      1913 Robert Leavens

      1916 Edwin A Gerhart

      1918 William M Johnston

      1919 W Lee Mains

      1922 William M Beers

      1925 Edwin Grafton

      1929 Arth Trenerry

      1930 Arth Trenerry

      1932 Fred L Tilton

      1933 Fred L Tilton

      1934 Fred L Tilton

      1935 C J Williams


Laurel was incorporated in 1908.

Partial Lineage for the Office of Mayor is:

      1908 Ed Fenton (Founding Mayor)

      1912 Walter R Westbrook

      1913 Albert E Stripp, MD

      1916 Albert E Stripp, MD

      1918 Benjamin L Price

      1919 Chester T Davis

      1922 Frank Wright

      1925 Hans C Knudsen

      1929 Jas A Kucera

      1930 Jas A Kucera

      1932 Roscoe Broughton, MD

      1933 Roscoe Broughton, MD

      1934 Roscoe Broughton, MD

      1935 Roscoe Broughton, MD

  Email me:
Katy Hestand
Yellowstone County Coordinator

© 2014 MTGenWeb