The following is a list of towns that were (and some still are) in Powell County. Some of these very small communities/settlements were only railroad stops, while others may have established a post office even for a short period of time. Many no longer exist. The book "NAMES ON THE FACE OF MONTANA--The Story of Montana's Place Names" by Roberta Carkeek Cheney; published by Mountain Press Publishing Company, was used as a reference.

Avon - thirty two miles east of Helena.   The post office under William Cramer opened in 1884.

Belair - was for a brief time the name of a community with a post office that operated December 1913 - May 1914. The name was then changed to Lake City, and Harry McNally continued on as postmaster.

Blackfoot City - had a post office from 1866-96; after that the Ophir office served the area. Silas Crounse was the first postmaster.

Blossburg - located near Lewis and Clark County line.  It served as a station on the Northern Pacific. Postal records show a Blossburg post office in Deer Lodge-Powell County established in 1886 with Jacob Whitmire as postmaster.  It is noted that   it was formerly Barcon and that office was closed in 1902.  Blossburg is listed in Powell County and had a post office open in 1950 with Edna Medsker as postmistress.  It is also noted that this was formerly called Schatz which was discontinued in 1957.

Bradley - a Northern Pacific Railroad Station.  Named for an Army officer killed at the Battle of the Big Hole.

Carpenters Bar - briefly a post office June-December 1872. Thomas Pounds was postmaster.

Charlesburg - named for postmaster Charles Anderson.  The office was only active from February-September 1920. Mail was then handled at Elliston.

Cottonwood - gold miners named this camp and it eventually became the town of Deer Lodge.

Daniels - near Race Track, had a post office 1902-1904.   Dora Lingo was in charge.

Deer Lodge - is the county seat, located in the valley that was once called the ALodge of the White-Tailed Deer@ by the Indians. The settlement was once called Cottonwood by gold miners because of an abundance of cottonwood trees.   Later it was called LaBarge City in honor of Capt. LaBarge who started a trading post in 1802.  In 1863, citizens formed the Deer Lodge Town Company, and changed the name to Deer Lodge City.  The  post office opened in 1866; Romulus Percy was in charge.  The name was shortened to Deer Lodge in 1896.   The state penitentiary opened in Deer Lodge in 1871.

Dempsey - was named for Dempsey Creek which in turn was named for Robert Dempsey, a Montana pioneer who owned a ranch on the creek in the 1860's.

Elliston - is near the Continental Divide twenty-five miles from Helena, on the other side of McDonald Pass.  The post office was established in 1884; S. N. Nicholson was postmaster.

Emery - had opened a post office in 1896,;James Sullivan postmaster.  The post office was open off and on from 1896 to it's final closing in 1937.

Finn - a halfway stop between Avon and Helmville, was named for Luke Finn, who operated the only saloon.  The post office opened in 1910 ; Edwin Graver was postmaster.  It closed in 1941.

Garrison - was named for William Lloyd Garrison.  It developed into a railroad town between the Clark Fork River and a high bluff. The Northern Pacific trains from Butte and Helena met there and continued on to Missoula as one line. The post office was established in 1883; William Facer was postmaster.

Gilbert - named for F.W. Gilbert, general superintendent of the Northern Pacific Railroad.

Gold Creek, Goldcreek - The president of the Northern Pacific Railroad, Henry Villard, came here in September 1883 to drive the iron spike that completed the line linked the West Coast with the East.  The Gold Creek area was originally called the Benetsee Creek area.  A post office was opened in 1886;  Francis Bird was postmaster.  It closed in 1894, and was opened again in1898 to 1901. Postal records show the name spelled as one word. The office reopened in 1903.

Helmville - is in the mountains near where Nevada Creek empties into the Blackfoot River.  The town was named for Henry Helm, a pioneer settler. The post office was established in 1872; Alvin Lincoln was postmaster.

Holland Lake - named for the first settler, B.B. Holland.

Isabel - the post office was open from December 1885-January 1888. John Fitzpatrick was the first postmaster. It was near Junction.

Jens - named for an area resident whose first name was Jens. The post office was open 1915-52; Jessie Madesen was the first postmaster.

Keene - near Garrison; the post office was open 1883-84.  It was named for postmaster Hiram M. Keene.

Kohr - was a station named for Conrad Kohrs, a prominent businessman in Helena, from whom the right-of-way for the railroad was purchased.

LaBarge City - the town that is now Deer Lodge was known by this name for a brief time.

Lake City - was near Helmville.  Originally called Belair, and under that name had a post office established in 1914. The name was changed to Lake City the next year.   Harry McNally continued as postmaster until the office was discontinued in 1917.

Ovando - is northeast of Missoula opened its post office in 1883.  The town was named for Ovando Hoyt, the first postmaster.

Pioneer - had a post office from August-December 1870; Nicholas Connolly was postmaster. The office was open again 1871-1907 and 1977-18, serving the area formerly getting mail at Gold Creek.

Race Track - named for a racetrack that was built there, opened its post office in 1879; Philetus Hoyt was postmaster.  It closed in 1935.

Schatz -  post office established 1915; Orlie Coats was postmaster.  It took the railroad station name Blossburg in 1950. It is located in the southeastern part of the county.

Washington Gulch - established a post office in 1869; the first postmaster was Patrick White. The office closed in 1907.

Yreka - near Beartown, post office open from 1871-82; William Ferguson was the first postmaster.



Maintained by
Suzanne Andrews
MTGenWeb County Coordinator
for Powell County, MT

Copyright 1996-2016